November 30, 2015     
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Court Services > Traffic Citations
Court Services - Traffic and Parking Citations
Updated October 14, 2015

Important: Payment on your traffic citation is due to the Clerk's Office within 30 days from the date the citation was issued. Payments received after that date, regardless of postmark date, will incur an additional late fee and possible suspension of your driver’s license.

A Civil Traffic Citation is a non-criminal traffic violation that is not punishable by incarceration and for which there is no right to a trial by jury or a right to court-appointed counsel. Most civil traffic infractions do not require a court appearance, but can be disposed by paying a civil penalty, requesting an infraction hearing, or electing to attend a driver improvement course.

The Clerk of the Court collects all traffic fines and distributes the proceeds according to law. The total amount of a traffic fine consists of amounts required to be paid by Florida Law as well as by County and City ordinances and may vary from what is written on your citation by the officer. Check with the Clerk's Office for the total amount due on your citation.

Parking Citations for violations that occur outside of the Pensacola Downtown Parking Management District are paid to the Clerk of Court. These citations are payable within 30 days from the date of issuance. If your parking citation was issued by the City of Pensacola Downtown Parking Management District you need to contact their office to determine how and where to pay the citation.


Upon receipt of a civil traffic citation for any non-criminal violation, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise one of three options:

  1. Pay the Ticket.
  2. Pay the Ticket and Attend an Approved Basic Driver Improvement Course.
  3. Contest the Ticket In Court.

Option 1 - Pay the Ticket

Payment on your citation is due in the Clerk’s Office within 30 days from the date the citation was issued. Payments may be made in person, by phone, mail or online. The Clerk’s Office accepts cash, money orders, traveler’s checks, and credit cards*. All payments, regardless of method, must be received by the Clerk’s Office by the 30th day.

*Credit card payments will incur an additional 3.5% service charge on the payment.

Return To OPTIONS.

Option 2 - Pay the Ticket and Elect to Attend an Approved Basic Driver Improvement Course

Florida Statute 318.14 provides qualified individuals the option to elect to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to prevent points from being assessed to your driving record. To choose this option, you must first submit payment and complete the Traffic Election Form within 30 days from the date the citation was issued. The election, along with the payment, may be made online, by mail or in person to the Clerk's Office. To determine the total costs for the traffic school election see the Basic Driver’s Course Election Fine Schedule.

You must make the election prior to attending the course. A course completed before the election is made will not be accepted and your license will still be suspended unless a new course is completed, and proof is submitted to the Clerk’s Office within 60 days after the date of the election.

Upon completion of the approved Basic Driver Improvement Course, you must bring, mail, or email the certificate of completion to the Clerk’s Office. Failure to complete the Basic Driver Improvement Course and turn the certificate of completion into the Clerk’s Office within 60 days from the date of election will result in a report of non-compliance being submitted to the DHSMV and your driver's license being suspended. If this occurs, additional court costs and late charges will be applied to your citation and will need to be paid before the suspension can be cleared.

Note: If you hold an out-of-state license, it is your responsibility to verify, prior to your election, that the state issuing your driver's license will accept a Florida school election and withhold points for completing the school.

To qualify for the traffic school election:

  • Your must not possess a Class A, B, or C commercial drivers license (CDL)
  • You may not have elected to attend an approved Basic Driver Improvement Course within the last 12 months, and
  • You may not have elected to attend an approved Basic Driver Improvement Course 5 times in your lifetime.

A list of approved Basic Driver Improvement Course schools can be found on the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website under "Basic Driver Improvement Courses" or in the Yellow Pages under “driving instruction” or “traffic schools”.

Return To OPTIONS.

Option 3 - Contest the Ticket In Court

If you choose to enter a 'Not Guilty' plea and contest the traffic citation in court, you must notify the Clerk in writing within 30 days of the date the citation was issued to request a traffic infraction hearing. The Traffic Election Form is provided for you to select this option. The completed form needs to be brought to the Clerk's Office in person, by mail, or by email within 30 days of the compliance date. When you choose this option, you plead not guilty and you waive your right to pay the fine or elect to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course.

After receipt of the completed form, the Clerk will send a notice advising you of the date and time of your hearing. If you reside outside of Escambia County, you may attend in person at your own expense or be heard at the hearing by way of an Affidavit of Defense. Subpoenas will be issued for the law enforcement officer as well as any witnesses listed by the officer. You are responsible for making sure any witnesses you want to testify appear at the hearing.


Return To OPTIONS.

Contact Information

Traffic Division

Telephone: (850) 595-4360   

Room 13001 - First Floor
190 W Government St
Pensacola, Florida  32502
Clerk of the Circuit Court
Traffic Division
P.O. Box 333
Pensacola, Florida  32591-0333

Frequently Asked Questions

How long do I have to pay my traffic citation?
Traffic Infraction citations are due to be paid within 30 calendar days from the date of issuance.

What if I cannot pay my citation within 30 calendar days?
If you are unable to pay your ticket in full within the first 30 days, you may apply for a Payment Plan, or request a one-time 30 day extension to pay the fine. If a 30 day extension is received, and the ticket remains unpaid at the end of the 30 days, no further extensions will be granted and the defendant's driver's license will be suspended, costs will be assessed and the balance due may be referred to Collections. Once a notice has been sent to DHSMV to suspend, the balance due must be paid in full to obtain a clearance letter.

How do I figure out what I owe on my ticket?
While a law enforcement officer may tell you a fine amount for a particular violation, the final amount is determined by Florida Statutes, county and city ordinances which may vary from what the officer writes on the ticket. Click here for a list of fines and costs for various traffic offenses.

What can you tell me about points assessed on my license?
The Clerk's Office cannot offer advice concerning the number of points assessed against your license, how those points affect your license, or how the points will affect your insurance. You must address these concerns with the DHSMV and/or your insurance agency.

How do I know if my Florida Driver's License is Valid?
Please click here to link to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to verify the status of your driver's license.

How can I obtain a copy of my driving record?
With a photo ID, you can obtain a 3 year driving history for $14.25.
DUI offenses requiring lifetime records are $16.25.

What are the benefits of attending a Basic Driver Improvement Course?
There are two benefits associated with attending the Basic Driver Improvement Course: 1) no points will be assessed against your driving record, 2) the violation will be entered on your driving record as an "adjudication withheld". If you hold a CDL or commercial license, you are not eligible to attend the school.

What if I receive a ticket outside of Escambia County?
Payment must be made in the county where the ticket was issued.

How many times can I elect to attend the Basic Driver Improvement Course?
You may make an election to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course, for eligible violations, one time in a 12 month period. No more than 5 elections may be made in a lifetime.

If I choose to attend a driver improvement course and do not attend, does this count as one of the 5 times I am allowed to choose this option?
Yes. Once the affidavit is signed and recorded by the court it counts as one of your elections. You may not choose the school option again for 12 months and all payments are forfeited regardless of whether you follow through and attend the school.

Do I have to pay to attend a driver improvement course?
Yes. The costs for the Basic Driver Improvement Course vary depending on which course you choose to attend. You have to check with the individual course providers to determine the costs.

Can the Clerk's Office reinstate my license?
In certain cases the Clerk's Office may be able to reinstate your license for $60.00. If the Clerk's Office is unable to reinstate your license you will be provided with the necessary paperwork to present to the Tax Collector's Office for reinstatement.

Where do I pay parking tickets received within the Pensacola city limits?
Please contact the City of Pensacola Downtown Parking Management District at 850-434-5372 for payment locations.

What forms of payment do you accept?
The Clerk's Office accepts cash, personal check, money order and credit card* (Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express) for the payment of filing fees and fines.

*Credit card payments will incur an additional 3.5% service charge on the payment.

Where can I pay my court fines, fees, and other costs?
You may pay your court fines, fees, and other costs by using any of the methods listed below. However, some traffic violations require that you show proof of insurance, driver's license, or other required items before the traffic citation can be considered closed. Failure to do so may result in the suspension of the defendant's driver's license.

  1. Pay in person at our Traffic department located on the first floor of the M.C.Blanchard Building, 190 W. Government St., Pensacola, FL.
  2. Pay by telephone using a Mastercard, Visa, Discover or American Express.
  3. Send payment by mail to: Clerk of Court, Traffic Division, P.O. Box 333, Pensacola, FL 32591-0333. Please include citation number and/or case number.


Please read the instructions for the forms that you are downloading.
Additional forms may be needed depending on your situation.

NOTE: The forms supplied by the Clerk's office are general in nature and may not meet your specific needs. The Clerk does not guarantee the legal sufficiency of these forms; therefore, you may need to consult with an attorney regarding your particular situation.

Related Resources

NOTE: Most of the "Related Resource" links above are not maintained by the Clerk.